Traces of prehistoric settlements in the Eugubean territory have been documented since the Middle Paleolithic. Recent archaeological campaigns have led to the identification of sites of the Bronze Age, very close to the city.
Gubbio was an important center of the Umbrians, as evidenced by the Eugubine Tablets (III-I century BC), the most remarkable epigraphic relic of pre-Roman Italy. These are seven bronze plates that contain ritual prescriptions for particular ceremonies and also give indications on the order of the city-state Igigina.
Gubbio made an alliance with Rome since the third century. B.C. it became flourishing in the early days of the Empire, as evidenced by numerous archaeological remains, including those of the Roman Theater, still used for summer shows.
During the eleventh century Gubbio passed to its own municipal self-government. Both Barbarossa (1163) and Henry VI (1191) recognized the vast majority of jurisdictions and privileges of the Eugubino consuls.
Gubbio reached a large number of inhabitants, developed the arts (especially that of wool), were built the new walls and the impressive municipal buildings.
The domination of the Counts and Dukes of Urbino gave rise to a period of relative civil and artistic prosperity, especially under the rule of Federico di Montefeltro. With Federico began the construction in Renaissance forms of the Palazzo Ducale. The Eugubini remained loyal to the lords of Urbino even during the brief dominations of Valentino (1502) and Lorenzo dei Medici (1516-1519).
Later Gubbio passed to the State of the Church and in 1860, shortly after the annexation to the Kingdom of Italy, Gubbio was aggregated to Umbria.
To consult all the events in Gubbio connected to the site:
The other cities of Umbria a few kilometers from Fonte chiara
Famous are the Franciscan Sacred Convent with the Basilica, the fresco by Giotto, the fourteenth-century church of S. Chiara, the church of S. Maria Maggiore with the frescoes by Pinturicchio and the Rocca Maggiore, placed on a rise overlooking the city.
The city, already around the middle of the eleventh century, was organized, administratively, in five districts or villages, named by their medieval doors: Porta Sole, Porta Sant’Angelo, Porta Santa Susanna, Porta Eburnea, Porta San Pietro. The progressive urban expansion, as early as the thirteenth century, determined the extension of the villages outside the gates, developing a structure in the shape of a star.
Lake Trasimeno is the largest body of water in the Italian peninsula, the fourth largest in Italy. Heart-shaped, it covers an area of 128 sq. Km. Its waters are at most 6m deep.
Umbria by flight
Observe Umbria from a unique point of view
In every season you can observe the beauty of the Umbria region from above! Observe the beautiful city of Gubbio from a particular perspective, experience an exciting adventure. For more information: